Mission and Governance

Mission Statement

To make measurable improvements in the quality and delivery of health care.

Our Core Values
  • Model integrity
  • Embrace innovation
  • Celebrate success
  • Strive for excellence
  • Foster trust and teamwork
  • Focus on those we serve

TMF Board of Trustees

The board of trustees is comprised of up to 15 physicians, non-physicians and consumer (Medicare) beneficiary representatives. Trustees provide corporate oversight and direction and operations are overseen by an executive committee elected by the board. Under the direction of TMF trustees, day-to-day operations are managed by its president and chief executive officer and senior management team.

Member Requirements

The TMF board includes at least one doctor of medicine, one doctor of osteopathic medicine, and two consumer representatives. The board may not be comprised of a majority of physicians or any other type of practitioner or profession, but will include no less than two physicians at all times.

Length of Appointment

Trustees are elected for three-year terms and no person may serve more than six years.

TMF Board of Trustees

David C. Mason, DO, MBA FACOFP, Fort Worth, Texas (chair)

Lisa Ehrlich, MD, Houston, Texas (vice chair)

Laurie East, MBA, CPA, FACMPE, Austin, Texas (secretary/treasurer)

Ruth Atkins, BSN, MA, Louisville, Kentucky (chair of the TMF Operations Committee)

Eddie L. Patton Jr., MD, MS, MBA, FAAN, Houston, Texas (officer-at-large)

Jeffrey Schmeltekopf, CLU, ChFC, CFP, AIF, Fort Worth, Texas (non physician officer-at-large)

Nancy Adams, RN, MSN, FAAN, retired major general, Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Wendy Chung, MD, SM, Dallas, Texas

Mathew C. Garber, PharmD, MA, PhD, San Antonio, Texas

Janet Marie Lieto, DO, FACOFP, CMD, CPPS, Fort Worth, Texas

Elizabeth Lopez, BA, LBSW, Lubbock, Texas

Keri Pearlson, DBA, MS, Austin, Texas

Glenn A. Robinson, MHA, Waco, Texas

Betty Wharton, MS, CEN, APRN-CNS, Broken Bow, Oklahoma

TMF Board Compensation

Trustees will be compensated $2,500 for Trustee meetings. This amount is for their time spent in preparation for the meeting, attending the trustee meeting, committee meetings and for their time spent traveling to and from the meeting. Trustees will be compensated $250 per hour for time spent in preparation for and participating in executive committee conference call meetings.

Trustees will be compensated for telephone conference call meetings, special meetings, or special assignments of the trustees and/or executive committee at the rate of $250 per hour with a minimum of $250 per call.

The chair will be compensated at the rate of $1,700 per month in months in which there is no board meeting and compensation will increase to $2,500 per month in board meeting months. This will cover communications with TMF staff, review of written materials, etc.

Board of Trustee compensation is provided through TMF corporate funds and no board compensation is charged to contracts.

Affiliations: No member of the TMF Board of Trustees is affiliated with TMF in any other capacity than their board service.

TMF Certificate of Formation, Bylaws and IRS Form 1023

TMF's Certificate of Formation, Bylaws and the IRS Form 1023 are available upon request.