Mission and Governance

Mission Statement

To make measurable improvements in the quality and delivery of health care.

Our Core Values
  • Model integrity
  • Embrace innovation
  • Celebrate success
  • Strive for excellence
  • Foster trust and teamwork
  • Focus on those we serve

TMF Board of Trustees

The board of trustees is comprised of up to 15 physicians, non-physicians and consumer (Medicare) beneficiary representatives. Trustees provide corporate oversight and direction and operations are overseen by an executive committee elected by the board. Under the direction of TMF trustees, day-to-day operations are managed by its president and chief executive officer and senior management team.

Member Requirements

The TMF board includes at least one doctor of medicine, one doctor of osteopathic medicine, and two consumer representatives. The board may not be comprised of a majority of physicians or any other type of practitioner or profession, but will include no less than two physicians at all times.

Length of Appointment

Trustees are elected for three-year terms and no person may serve more than six years.

TMF Board of Trustees

Kevin H. McKinney, MD, Galveston, Texas (chair)

David C. Mason, DO, MBA FACOFP, Fort Worth, Texas (vice chair)

Laurie East, MBA, CPA, FACMPE, Austin, Texas (secretary/treasurer)

Gayle Lucas Semtner, M.Ed., Oklahoma City, Oklahoma (chair of the TMF Operations Committee)

Lisa Ehrlich, MD - Officer-at-Large, Houston, Texas (officer-at-large)

Jeffrey Schmeltekopf, CLU, ChFC, CFP, AIF, Fort Worth, Texas (non physician officer-at-large)

Nancy Adams, RN, MSN, FAAN, retired major general, Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Ruth Atkins, BSN, MA, Louisville, Kentucky

Wendy Chung, MD, SM, Dallas, Texas

Jim Hine, CPA, New Braunfels, Texas

Elizabeth Lopez, BA, LBSW, Lubbock, Texas

Keri Pearlson, DBA, MS, Austin, Texas

Erick Santos, MD, PhD, Corpus Christi, Texas

Ronald S. Walters, MD, MBA, MHA, Houston, Texas

Betty Wharton, MS, CEN, APRN-CNS, Broken Bow, Oklahoma

TMF Board Compensation

Trustees are compensated $1,000 for Trustee meetings. This amount is for their time spent in preparation for the meeting, attending the meeting and for their time spent traveling to and from the meeting. Trustees are compensated $125 per hour for time spent in preparation for executive committee conference call meetings.

Trustees are compensated for telephone conference call meetings, special meetings, or special assignments of the trustees and/or executive committee at the rate of $125 per hour with a minimum of $125 per call.

The chair is compensated at the rate of $1,700 per month. This covers communications with TMF staff, review of written materials, etc. The monthly compensation of $1,700 does not include compensation for attending TMF Board of Trustees or executive committee meetings.


No member of the TMF Board of Trustees is affiliated with TMF in any capacity other than their board service.

TMF Certificate of Formation, Bylaws and IRS Form 1023

TMF's Certificate of Formation, bylaws and the IRS Form 1023 are available upon request.